Curriculum Statement

At Drayton Community Infant School we:

  • Develop inquisitive minds, a spirit of curiosity and a passion for learning
  • Equip pupils with the skills to fully participate in an ever changing world
  • Teach children to be respectful and productive members of the community
  • Have high expectations and self- belief to enable them to fulfil their potential
  • Encourage children to reflect on their learning and seek to extend themselves  mentally, physically and spiritually
  • Teach children to persevere a learn from their mistakes
  • Encourage an understanding and respect for the environment
  • Empower children to have courage and confidence to take calculated risks

What we do at Drayton Community Infant School –

Teachers continuously monitor and assess pupils’ progress and achievement as they pass through the school.

As an infant School we refer to the year groups as follows:

Year R: Reception, 4 – 5 years (Foundation Stage);

Year 1: 5 – 6 years (Key Stage 1);

Year 2: 6 – 7 years (Key Stage 1);

The Norfolk Statement of Policy for the Curriculum 5 – 16 will be adopted by our Governing Body. This document defines the Curriculum as, “the sum of a pupil’s learning experiences which are provided through his or her full-time education, both in and out of school.” In common with all community schools, Drayton Infant School has been teaching the National Curriculum since September 1989. The four core subjects are English, Mathematics, Science and Information and Communication Technology (ICT). The remaining foundation subjects, Art, History, Geography, Music, Design Technology, PE and RE combine with these core areas to provide a rich and varied curriculum. In the Foundation Stage we follow The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage and the overarching principles shape our practice. We use Development Matters for the Early Years Foundation Stage guidance to inform our planning and assessment and offer children a variety of rich experiences to support their learning in all 7 Areas of Learning. Teachers plan their work together to ensure that they are covering the National Curriculum and EYFS Framework effectively and providing a broad and balanced curriculum.

Autumn Term 2015

More information will follow shortly for our exciting new curriculum. In the meantime why not view a helpful parent guide to the changes, which can be found here